Friday, December 22, 2006

How smart am I?

Wow......I've impressed myself.....I made it back for a second posting!!

It is 3 days before Christmas and Todd has taken the kids out to do shopping for me. It's a double-edged sword because I'm enjoying the time alone, but the thought of spending one more dime this holiday season makes me cringe.

I've run into the rudest people this year. It used to be just Wal-Mart that I avoided during the holidays, but now I add Target to my list. I live in a rather rural area where you have your fair share of uppity I'm better than you because I live in a bigger house and drive a bigger car set, but you also have your I haven't visited a dentist in the past 20 years which is why I have no teeth and I weigh half as much as your SUV and will run your ass over with my cart if you don't get the hell out of my way set - this is the set I've run into in every dang store I've tried to shop. I'm sick of all of it! It's now 2 days before all shopping must be finished and I, as usual, have the last minute can't live without list and I just plain don't want to go in another store, fight the crowds and traffic or spend any more money.

I remember when I had the excitement of Christmas, couldn't wait for "that" morning to arrive and it's gone. Now all I think about is the bills I'll be paying on the the next 6 months, putting away all the decorations, waiting for my kids to say the day after Christmas "Can we go to Target?" or the dreaded "I'm bored". It's sad really. What happened to the spirit of what Christmas is really about? I used to be able to give tokens of love and appreciation to people I care about, now it takes every cent of money plus credit cards to buy more and more and give to more and more people and I'm tired of feeding into this whole "it's not what you give it's how much you spend" crap.

I still have baking to do, groceries to buy, presents to pick up and a whole list of must-do's by Christmas morning and all I really want to do is curl up in my bed with several DVD's of CSI and not do one damn thing, but eat chocolate, rot my teeth and get fat enough to push my way around a store and have people get out of the way for fear of me running them over - HA! that will teach them.

Bah-humbug!

No comments: